NY Pistol Class
Next Class: January 14-16th NEW NY State training requirements!
NY State now requires 16 hours of in-person instruction and 2 hours of live fire prior to you applying for your pistol permit since September 1, 2022. Several legal challenges have been pursued related to several portions of the law passed, unfortunately none of them have challenged the training requirements.
Spartan Training Industries has developed the class material to meet the new requirements as defined by the Division of Criminal Justice Services (DCJS) and NY Executive Law 837(23)(a) and 235(1).
The next class will be comprising of the following:
Friday evening, 4 hours (5:00 – 9:00 pm) – General Firearm Safety
Saturday, 8 hours (8:00 am – 4:30 pm) – Firearm Storage, State & Federal Requirements, Additional Training Requirements
Sunday, 4 hours (8:00 am – 12:00 pm) – Additional Training Requirements
Sunday, 2 hours (12:30 pm – 2:30 pm) – Live Fire Training
The class will be limited to 10 students and will be held at 800 Starbuck Avenue, Suite C-101, Watertown NY. The Affidavit Form (See Below) and payment must be received in advance to reserve a spot. The cost is $325 and you can pay by check payable to Bill Kleftis, PayPal or Venmo. Once affidavit and payment are received, I will confirm your registration. At the end of class, the successful student will receive a certificate that they will need to supply with the permit application process.
Contact Bill with any questions or comments.
Utah Pistol Class
Allows you to legally carry in over 30 states. Next class has not been scheduled yet. Typically held at the NYTRIC facility located at 800 Starbuck Avenue Suite C-101, Building C, Watertown NY 13601. If you are interested, contact Bill. Cost is $130. Call to reserve your spot!
Florida Pistol Class
You MUST attend the Utah/Florida classroom instruction AND already be a NY pistol permit holder ... you will be required to show live fire safety and proficiency at an additional cost of $50. Next LIVE Fire has not been scheduled. Call or email Bill for more information.
Send the registration fee to:
Chaumont, NY 13622
Three Fundamental Rules
1) Always point your firearm in a safe direction, regardless if it is loaded or not.
2) Always keep your finger off the trigger until ready to shoot.
3) Always keep your firearm unloaded until ready to shoot.
Planning on Beginner, Intermediate and Advance firearm training in 2023. Contact Bill for more details!
Jefferson, Lewis, St. Lawrence and Oswego Counties
Jefferson, Lewis, St. Lawrence and Oswego Counties, along with many other counties in New York State, require a certificate from one of their listed trainers, certifying that a pistol permit applicant has been trained in a preapproved course in the safe handling and use of handguns. If the course trainer is not on the county list, your application will be rejected!